Mandate and Functions



A Global Leader for attaining better health outcomes,

competitive and responsive health caresystems,

and equitable health care financing.



To guarantee equitable, sustainable and quality health

for all Filipinos, especially the poor,

and to lead the quest for excellence in health.






Executive Order No. 288 dated February 20, 1958 effected the creation of regional offices. Each Regional Office was placed under a Regional Director. There were eight (8) regional offices and Mindanao and Sulu became Regions 7 and 8. Davao City was the headquarters for Region 8 as organized in 1959. There were 6 provinces and 3 cities under Region 8: Agusan, Bukidnon, Cotabato, Davao , Misamis Oriental, Surigao provinces, and the cities of Butuan, Davao and Cagayan de Oro City. Dr. Vicente Gahol was the first Regional Health Director for Region 8.
I n 1973, Region 8 was divided into Region 10 and Region 11 as a result of the implementation of the Integrated Reorganization Plan of March 1972 which sought the creation of eleven (11) regional offices. Region 11 then consisted of 5 provinces namely: Davao , Davao Oriental, Davao Sur, North Cotabato and South Cotabato , and the 3 cities, Cotabato, General Santos & Davao . The Region was also known as Southern Mindanao and its headquarters was still located in Davao City .
In 1975, another reorganization was done. The composition of Region 11 became the provinces of Davao , Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, South Cotabato , Surigao del Sur, and the 2 cities, General Santos and Davao .
In 1993, Region XI (or Region 11) was added with another province by virtue of the subdivision of South Cotabato into 2 provinces with Sarangani Province as its new additional province. Thus, Region XI consisted of 6 provinces and 2 cities.
I n 1995, Caraga Region was created and Surigao Sur became a part of it, resulting to the composition of Region XI into 5 provinces again and 2 cities: Davao Province , Davao del sur, Davao Oriental, South Cotabato , Sarangani Provin ce and the cities of Davao and General Santos.
In January 30, 1998 , Compostela Valley Province was created into separate district province from Davao also known as Davao del Norte by virtue of Republic Act No. 8470, signed by Fidel V. Ramos.
On September 19, 2001 , President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo's Executive Order No. 36 reorganized the regions and provinces of Mindanao . This moved South Cotabato and Sarangani to SOCCSKSAGEN region and renamed Southern Mindanao as Davao Region. Davao Region consists of four provinces and one chartered city namely: Compostela Valley , Davao del Norte (its component cities: City of Panabo , City of Tagum and the Island Garden City of Samal) Davao del Sur (Component city: City of Digos ), and Davao Oriental and Davao City . Its regional center now called the Department of Health - Center for Health Development Davao Region is located in Bajada, Davao City .